Being Yourself · Essay · Feelings · Happiness · Self-Motivation

Happiness is Within You

I discovered today that there isn’t any need to search for happiness everywhere, because it really does come from within. 🙂
Today, in class, my teacher looked in my direction and said, “Come up and write the reaction on the blackboard.” So I stood up, walked over to the dais and looked at him expectantly, waiting for him to hand me a piece of chalk.
Then I realized that he was smiling at me, and I could hear a few giggles from the students behind. I realized that he had actually asked the person sitting next to me to come up. This was the second time in class that I did something like this. It was mortifying to stand there as I grabbed the chalk and wrote the reaction that had started this whole thing. I walked back quickly and sat down again.
And then it flashed across my mind: I have a choice here. I can either be grumpy, for the rest of the day, and start disliking the teacher and his class, or I can choose to laugh at what happened. I can choose to forget all about it, and accept that life gives us completely ridiculous and silly things all the time.
I started to smile. I imagined looking at myself as I walked up there, clueless of who actually had been called. How funny that must have looked! I may have made a jester of myself, but hey, I am a dreamer, after all. 🙂 I did make people laugh. And so, I made myself smile!
Smiling can be really infectious. I challenged more than ten people today to NOT smile while I smiled sweetly/sheepishly/stupidly at them. Not one of them could stop themselves from smiling back at me. Some burst into laughter, too! Smiling at someone really makes their day. It doesn’t cost a cent, and makes people want to smile back, regardless of their circumstances. (Fun way to burn calories – it makes you happy, too 😛 )
Most importantly, I realized that we hunt all over for happiness that we forget that happiness is always balancing itself on the tip of our noses. We take so many things for granted that we forget to be thankful for them. No matter what our circumstances are, we always have something to be happy about and grateful for. When you see the world in another’s shoes, you’ll realize HOW lucky you are to have so many things. Go ahead. Try it! 🙂 Before you go to bed, let thoughts of all the good things that you are lucky to have right now flash through your head, and go to sleep with a smile. You’ll feel like a million dollars the next day.
Happiness is possible when you give up unnecessary hatred and love everyone, because you’ll feel positive when you press the Delete button and remove all that negativity. Love yourself, care for others, and let go of all the expectations that you have from anyone but yourself.
Because, my friend, happiness comes from within.
Keep smiling!

4 thoughts on “Happiness is Within You

  1. Absolutely true. Smiling promotes a positive mood, enables a smoother relationship with others, and even boosts our immune system. I once read that the simply act of smiling releases endorphins in the brain- a hormone at contributes to happiness and lowers stress.
    Excellent article!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s great that you could let go of the embarrassment and laugh at yourself. It’s important sometimes to not take yourself to seriously, I guess. I have to get better at this as well.

    I agree with what you said, going to sleep after thinking of all the things that make your life worthwhile and happy is a great way to wake up just like that: happy.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your thoughts. 🙂 Waking up happy that way makes the entire day buoyant and helps to remind us that no matter what happens, we will be okay.
      Glad you liked the post. Cheers! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

