Being Yourself · blogging · Change and People · learning · Personal · Poetry · writing

My F.R.I.EN.D.S Taught Me…and Miscellaneous

The last two weeks have been confusingly hectic. Suddenly being forced to accept so many changes was rather hard for me – the bewilderment of being in a whole new environment, trying to find new friends at college, having to accept that I don’t have as much time as before, and feeling the days slip through like water in little, poorly cupped hands. I’ve had either way too many thoughts imitating hurricanes in my head, or none at all.

I’m feeling better about it all now, thanks to some solid support from a few old friends, and Mom and Dad. Being able to watch F.R.I.E.N.D.S reruns on TV has been a real blessing! πŸ™‚ It’s a TV show that makes me feel happy and at peace, no matter what. So I thought I’d share this verseΒ I wrote about the characters a while ago…

~ My F.R.I.E.N.D.S Taught Me ~

Ross taught me it’s okay to embrace my inner nerd.
Monica taught me it’s okay to be really passionate about something, even if others think it’s weird.
Rachel taught me it’s okay to feel insecure, to let my hair down, and to have fun.
Chandler taught me that it’s okay to be socially awkward, and to laugh at life with sarcasm and puns.
Joey taught me that it’s okay to be attached to friends, to trust, and to not be willing to share things that are dear to you.
Phoebe taught me that it’s okay to have a troubled past, and yet be chirpy, kind, generous, and a little crazy too.

 

We have a long weekend here now, and I took the opportunity to catch up on baking. I made these delicious cupcakes using a recipe fromΒ Sally’s Baking Addiction. They came out marvellously! Here are a few pictures:

I’m slowly making peace with the crazy ways of the world and being myself once more. If there’s one thing I learnt in these 2 weeks, it’s that the best laid plans can go awry very quickly. “Going with the flow” is a phrase that is cliche’ for a reason… I’m going to plaster a huge smile on my face and do just that! πŸ™‚ My blog is turning two in a week’s time, and I’m excited for that too! πŸ™‚

 

11 thoughts on “My F.R.I.EN.D.S Taught Me…and Miscellaneous

  1. I really like the lessons your friends taught you, and I’m glad you were open to them. College is an incredibly exciting time in life, even if it does mean lots of (sometimes) difficult changes. You’ll do beautifully!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

