Being Yourself · blogging · Happiness · Life · Mystery · wisdom

Nineteen And (Hopefully) Wiser

How to see through your birthday surprise in four steps:

  1. Fish out the red herrings. (Pun intended πŸ™‚ )
    My birthday was on a Saturday, and when my best friends started to ask me twice or thrice when I was free to meet them on Saturday, my ever mystery-loving mind started to run through all the possibilities. What if they were centering on Saturday so that they could surprise me on Friday or something?
  2. Be on the lookout for anything out of place.
    As soon as I returned home from college on Friday and walked through the front door, I noticed that the light was on. The light is almost never on at that time of day at my place…so that set the cogs turning in my brain furiously…then I noticed that one friend had left her wallet on the front table, and I began to laugh. I knew! πŸ™‚
  3. Collect evidence. It’s fun!
    I went back outside to look for their shoes that they had hidden carefully and announced,’Okay, they’re here!’
  4. Let the conspirators know. *wink*
    I called my friend’s phone. It rang for quite some time, and then when she picked up, I told her,’If you want to surprise me, you should hide your wallet first!’

And then, of course, I ran upstairs and they still jumped out from behind my door yelling. It was a great birthday eve! πŸ™‚ We ate cupcakes and shoveled down some chocolate ice cream with brownies, and then proceeded to do one of my favourite things – go up on the roof for a nice private chat, with the sky slowly turning inky blue and the stars making us realize how we are part of this large, unknowable universe and that for a while, our daily struggles are insignificant. At the end of the day, I was really happy that I got to solve another fun ‘mystery’! πŸ™‚

I learnt so much in the past year that I feel like quite a different person. I’ve certainly become much stronger and more accepting, more willing to shut the door to anything that threatens my inner peace and to take credit for what I really deserve. I’ve learnt to tread lightly, and be the wind that rocks the bluebells, not the burr that clings on to the skirt of the past. I’ve realized how immensely lucky I am to be different, how the universe responds to your vibrations, and how God gives me everything at the right time. And for all these lessons, and for those spontaneous, beautiful moments that made me grin, chortle and burst into laughter, I am so very grateful. πŸ™‚

Until next time,
Rummy

 

 

9 thoughts on “Nineteen And (Hopefully) Wiser

Leave a Reply

