blogging · Change and People · Dreams · Experience · Growing Up · Happiness · Personal · Teenagers

“I’m gonna pack my bags because this great big world is calling me.”

I haven’t blogged in quite a bit, what with college assignments piling up and writer’s block, but inspiration always strikes when you’re pressed for time, doesn’t it? 😊

I have a dream – I’d love to go on a trip without letting anyone but my parents know. I don’t know if it is because of my love for mystery, or because I love both solitude and travel. But I know it would be terribly thrilling. Even the thought of it makes me all excited and happy. I’m definitely getting better prepared to make this dream come true as the days go by. I look back and see how I have evolved, albeit slowly, from a gawky, shy teen into a moderately confident young adult, having shed the cloak of cynicism and the conviction that the adult world is ‘grey’, and having acquired the wisdom to not see the world through rose-tinted glasses either.

A couple of years ago, I went on a trip with my friends from school and enjoyed it to the fullest. That trip helped me discover how much I enjoy travelling, and helped me discover so many things about myself I hadn’t seen before, through the company of my friends. Probably, a solo trip will help me learn a lot more about myself and of the world around me, without any inhibitions. I must confess, I have always been a bit wary of changes. But instead of running away from them, if I were to run towards them, throw myself to the winds with confidence and faith, things would be different, wouldn’t they?

I’d love to grab my backpack and hop onto a plane alone, land in a place that is so much unlike what I’ve seen that it will scare me initially, make me miss home, and after all that, make me so glad that I’m there. I’d love to meet new people, with new ideas of life and different ways of living, learn about different cultures and soak in the sights, try out new food and outfits, marvel at all the diverse forms of nature’s beauty that I haven’t seen before, and understand the world far better than I do now. I’d love to click sharp, honest, and beautiful photographs to remember these varied experiences, and use the exposure I’ve gained to write better. And I would love to see how I’d stand better on my own two feet, timid at first but gaining confidence with every new step I take, and return home as a different and wiser person. That’s what travel does to you – you learn to accept both the enjoyable and the not so enjoyable things that get thrown at you, and you end up having so much fun, too!

Until next time,
Rummy

The title is from Elvis Presley’s Harem Holiday.

 

6 thoughts on ““I’m gonna pack my bags because this great big world is calling me.”

Leave a Reply

